College Football Week 2 Review

Week 2 in the College football world has come to an end. I am going to be reviewing the games I picked in my Week 2 Preview.

Georgia vs Notre Dame

I called this the “Bigger Disappointment” Bowl. In the preview, I picked Georgia to win 28 to 20. Georgia won 20 to 19 with a field goal by Georgia in the late going to get the win. I did say that this was going to be a running game since both starting QB’s are inexperienced. Nick Chubb and Sony Michael both had 13 carries, with Chubb having 63 yards and Michael having 73 yards. Georgia’s total rushing totals were 43 carries for 185 yards. Georgia’s QB Jake Fromm went 16/29, 141 yards, 4.9 Yards average per attempt, with 1 Touchdown and 1 INT, with a 13.2/100 QBR.

Notre Dame also was going to have to rely on Defense and the running game to win this game. The Run Game was disappointing in whole, with 37 carries for 55 yards. The defense did have 1 INT to help them keep the game close. Brandon Wimbush did better than I expected with going 19/39, 211 yards, 5.4 yards avg per attempt and a 19.3/100 QBR rating.

With Notre Dame losing, I am just waiting for a week that Georgia will fail to win and start their tailspin into the ground like they do every year.

Stanford vs USC

I called this game the best game west of the Mississippi. I had USC winning 56 to 35 because the USC Offensive War Machine will not be stopped. I got the pick right but was kind off on the score big time. USC won by a score of 42 to 24.

I did say that Bryce Love looks like to be the real thing. He had 1 carries for 160 yards 9.4 Avg with 1 TD. The Stanford Rushing total was 26 carries for 170 yards. This did really shock me that they did not have a 2 or 3 headed running attack. Keller Chryst did not really shine that much. His stat line was 15/28, 172 yards, 6.1 AVG 2 TD and 55.8 QBR. In order to beat USC one of these stat lines had to amazing. Stanford does have a chance still to win the PAC 12 north, but they are going to need some help.

USC just dominated both sides of the ball they held down the Stanford Rush game, which was reloaded. They do have their signature 2 headed running attack back. Stephen Carr had 11 carries, 119 yards, 10.8 AVG. Ronald Jones II had 23 carries 116 yards 5.0 AVG, and 2 TD’s. The USC rush totals were 48 carries for 307 yards. Sam Darnold even with 2 INT’s was still very excellent this game. Darnold’s stat line was 21/26 316 yards, 12.2 avg per attempt, and 4 Touchdowns and 2 INT’s with an a amazing 95.8 QBR rating.

I think USC will win the PAC-12 South easily and will win the PAC-12 and represent the PAC-12 in the College Football Playoff.

Auburn vs Clemson

This game was more high stakes for Clemson since the ACC looks weak right now with FSU’s QB being injured for the year. Auburn was there just to make it look like that Alabama has some sort of competition in the SEC before the College Football Playoff. I had Clemson beating Auburn by the score of 24 to 14. The score of this game was 14 to 6 in favor of Clemson. Now you can take this game in 2 different ways. The first is that These teams are both good and that Clemson; if undefeated goes to the College Playoff and Auburn has some chance of knocking off Alabama just because they kept this game close. The 2nd option to look at this game is that they both took a step back and Clemson may not be in the College Football Playoff this year.

Auburn had a great defense when they faced each other last year but had no run game.to be honest I think they still have no run game. Their main back Kamryn Pettway had 22 rushes for 74 yards (3.4 Avg) and Auburn’s rushing totals were 42 rushes for 38 yards. Their pass game was not much better. Jarrett Stidnam only passed for 79 yards while going 16/24 average 3.3 yards an attempt.

Clemson did not fare better but they had enough offense and stellar defense to win the game. The quarterback Kelly Bryant led Clemson in the run game with 19 carries for 59 yards (3.1 Avg) and 2 Touchdowns. The next closest run totals was Adam Choice, who had 7 carries for 17 yards (2.4 AVG). The Auburn rushing totals were 36 carries for 99 yards and 2 TDs. Kelley Bryant was the shining QB this game going  19/29 181 Yards (6.2 AVG) 0 TD 0 INT and a 69.1 QBR.

I still got questions about these teams. I feel like Clemson maybe left out of the college football playoffs (Big 10 winner, PAC-12 winner, Big-12 Winner if they go undefeated, and SEC winner) if they don’t impress more.

Oklahoma vs Ohio State

This was the game of the week in my preview and is still my game of the week after the college football week. As you guys know I am not a fan of the big-12 and I made that clear in my prediction when I said Ohio State would beat Oklahoma by the score of 28-24. The score of the game was 31 to 16. Oklahoma made me eat big time crow last night.

I thought Ohio State was gonna be ready for anybody and anything in the pre-Michigan/Penn State games. I was wrong. Ohio State rush was still pretty good with 34 rush, 167 yards averaging 4.7 yards a carry with 1 TD. JT Barrett did not carry this team like I thought he would going 19/35 183 yards (5.2 Yards AVG) 0 touchdowns and 1 INT. When your offense only gives the team 1 touchdown you are putting a lot of pressure on your defense to be perfect every single drive.

Oklahoma just came to play on Saturday night on the biggest stage of the night in enemy territory. Oklahoma had a decent run game with 37 rushes for 104 yards (2.8-yard average) and 1 Touchdown. Baker Mayfield did what was expected of him, but I think he exceeded expectations. Mayfield’s line was 27/35 for 386 yards (11.0 AVG) with 3 touchdowns and 0 INT and a QBR of 87.5.

Ohio State is done in my opinion. They need to play good and regroup for a playoff run next year. Oklahoma if they go undefeated, they will get into the college football playoff. It would be amazing to have a game between USC and Oklahoma. Mayfield should be grateful he probably does not have to face Ohio State again. Mayfield should also be the first QB in picked in the Draft

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by addamcigarroa

Gonna be about sports. Feel free to reach out to me on my twitter @RocknRollife

Leave a comment